you're reading...
Mae Valdez, Poetry

Caterpillars


By Mae Valdez

 

Fresh start,

rewind:

“I will get through this

with flying colors”.

Fast forward,

today:

it rained

and I’m fed up

so I just fed myself comfort food

because nobody’s comfort is around

and I got my feet back

on the muddy ground-

“I will get through this

even if I have to crawl my way out.”

nevermind the wings, this time it will about

not giving up

because that is something great in itself.

And butterflies

flying with colors

also crawled as caterpillars.

I aim for more

even with these scars

shaped like caterpillars

on my soul.

I aim for more.

About aitsalimbay

The official newsletter of the UP Asian Institute of Tourism.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

